Double clicking OK button after proxy change disables all security settings
Tested on TorBrowser 3.6 Linux and Windows.
Steps to reproduce bug:
- Click Torbutton -> Preferences
- Select Transparent Torification
- Double click the OK button (to reliably reproduce bug click as many times as you can)
All security settings are now disabled. The "Are you sure you want to enable plugins?" warning pop-up will appear (unless plugins were already enabled, or you've ticked the 'Never ask me again' box). Opening up Torbutton preferences again and looking at the Security Settings tab shows that all four are disabled, about:config confirms they are disabled. The full list of disabled settings is:
The settings remain disabled even after setting the proxy mode back to 'recommended'. This bug is independent of whether a transparent proxy is actually available or not.
Because the preferences window freezes for up to several seconds after pressing OK when Transparent Torification is selected (presumably as the remote check is performed), multiple-clicking the OK button is a natural reaction. Clearly this bug is a risk as users (especially those with flash already enabled/having clicked 'Never ask me again') are unaware that these settings are being disabled and they remain disabled until manually changed back.